SUSHI 10 is the newest shop in the growing Japan Marketplace at Kenny Centre.

Over the course of nearly two decades, Tensuke Market has enjoyed serving tens of thousands of loyal customers.


Tensuke Market was one of the first stores in Ohio to sell professionally made sushi, and continues to maintain a standard of excellence.


Tensuke Market Sushi Department has moved into the shop next door (the former space of Tensuke Express).  After a company-wide naming contest with over 400 entries, we selected the name SUSHI 10, or SUSHI TEN.

10 indicates the “best” rating.   Ten also happens to mean “heaven” in Japanese!


We hear over and over from our guests that ours is their favorite Sushi.


Because our store sells top-quality fresh fish, we have our very own source of neta (fish cut especially for use in sushi). It’s difficult for anyone to compete with such freshness, taste and variety!


Although we carry thousands of products, our fresh fish department is the center of our business.


Come enjoy sushi at SUSHI 10 and we’re sure you’ll give it a “10”!




Uramaki (Inside Out)

Temaki (Hand Roll)

What is POKE?


Meaning:   “To cut or slice” (in Hawaiian)


Poke (pronounced poh-kay) is a centuries-old traditional Hawaiian dish, now “wildly popular” in mainstream America.

This Pacific island tradition is to cut raw fish, fresh from the ocean, marinate it, and serve it with seaweed, rice, vegetables, and various sauces.

Our poke bowls, custom made here at Sushi Ten, are packed with nutritional ingredients.   There are raw and cooked choices. Just let our cashier know your choice of protein, rice, toppings, and sauce.    In about 10 or 15 minutes, you’ll have a wonderful, satisfying meal ready to eat in our shop or take out.


Maki Sushi

Maki is a type of sushi roll that includes toasted seaweed nori rolled around vinegar-flavored rice and various fillings, including raw seafood and vegetables. The word maki means “roll.” There are a variety of types, including uramaki which is complex and requires the attention of a skilled chef. Others such as temaki are very easy to make, and frequently eaten at home and at social gatherings.

Maki sushi comes in several varieties, depending on how thick the roll is and how the roll is constructed.

The most common form is hosomaki. These thin rolls are made by making a small strip of sushi rice and one or two ingredients along one edge of a sheet of nori and then rolling it up tightly to form a slender roll. The roll is then cut into small pieces before serving, often alongside other types of sushi. Common cucumber rolls, carrot rolls, and tuna rolls are common types of hosomaki.

Futomaki, which means “fat roll,” is usually made with multiple ingredients, and can be as much as 1.5 inches (about 4 cm) in diameter. It's often vegetarian, and commonly includes ingredients like sprouts, fried eggs, and daikon radish. Like hosomaki, it's also usually sliced to more bite-sized pieces, although it may be served as long, uncut cylinders, especially at some traditional festivals.

Uramaki is an inside out roll, meaning that the sushi rice is on the outside. Nori is covered with sushi rice and then flipped over. The fillings are added and the maki is rolled up. The roll may be dipped in, or topped with, garnishes like sesame seeds or fish roe. This type of maki is more common outside of Japan, and includes the well-known California and Philadelphia rolls.

Temaki is a sushi roll formed in the shape of a cone. Nori sheets are cut in half so that a small pile of sushi rice and fillings can be made on one corner. Then the nori is tightly rolled in a conical shape which can easily be held by hand while it is dipped into an assortment of sauces, including soy sauce and wasabi, and eaten. These hand rolls are a more casual type of sushi, and also has a fun visual appearance, with ingredients overflowing from the cone like a cornucopia.


Nigiri is sliced raw fish with a molded ball of rice underneath. Most sushi chefs add a dab of wasabi in between the rice and fish, so no additional sauce is needed. Only the fish side of the nigiri should be dipped into soy sauce and it can be eaten with your hands.

Nigiri sushi is commonly called two kinds sushi because it involves two ingredients: sushi rice and a single topping.

The topping is also known as neta, and usually takes the form of a type of seafood such as tuna, eel, haddock, shad, snapper, octopus, or shrimp. Depending on the type of fish, it may be served raw in thin slices, grilled, or batter fried. Because the fish is clearly on display, and often served raw, cooks select fish of the highest quality and cut it meticulously so that it is aesthetically pleasing and healthy to eat.


TO PLACE AN ORDER: (614) 451-9100

1159 Old Henderson Rd. Columbus  OH  43220

Open 7 days

Mon - Fri : 11am - 2:30pm.  3:30pm - 7:30pm

Sat - Sun : 11am  - 7:30pm